Step 6: Celebration

I woke up again, this time back in Patches’ hovel.  Morning sunlight was streaming around the edges of the curtains, dimly illuminating the room.  A head of long blonde hair was sitting at the end of the bed, gently snoring.  A bright and frizzy ginger one sat next to me, her finger ever so lightly prodding my side.  I delicately lifted my own head from the bed and slowly sat up.

At the first sign of movement, Dahlia startled from her sleep.  Her bright blue eyes sparkled with life and the heavy dew of slumber.  It wasn’t long before she shook off the fog and figured out what was going on.  “Dora!  He’s awake!”

“Good morning, sleepyhead.”  Fianna had stopped poking me, her signature smirk now in my ear.  “How ya feelin’?  Is the master of life still tired, or are you ready to get back to work?”

“Already?  Don’t you think I need some time to celebrate?”

Fianna hopped onto the bed in front of me, chin in hand and her feet swinging over the end.  “Whaddaya think we’ve been doing the last three days?  Just waitin’ on you?”

“Finally!”  Patches burst into the room and draped her arms around my shoulders.  “Thank the gods!  You did it!  You did it!  You did it!”

I grinned from ear to ear as I returned the embrace.  “Yep, I guess I did.”

“So, Tailor-Tats, what’s next on your docket now that you’re awake?”

I looked back to Fianna, who was now fighting over bed space with both Patches and Dahlia.  “I’m not completely sure, but I think I have an idea.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

